New York State Workers’ Compensation Board Approves Additional Providers

This post was authored by Margaret Shea, CPCU, Assistant Vice President at Rose and Kiernan, Inc.

Effective January 1, 2020 Gov. Andrew Cuomo’s budget included a law that expands the types of medical providers authorized to treat workers who sustain a work-related injury.  Now eligible to apply to be Board-authorized providers are licensed clinical social workers, nurse practitioners and acupuncturists. Ancillary providers, who previously needed to be under the personal supervision of a Board-authorized provider may also apply. These providers include nurse practitioners, physician assistants, occupational therapists and physical therapists. 

The law was changed to increase access to quality medical treatment for injured workers. Thousands of new providers are expected to join the New York state workers’ compensation system making it easier to find prompt, professional medical care.

For more information on this topic, you can contact Rose & Kiernan, Inc. here or by calling 800-242-2433. We can help to find the right carrier and solutions for your workers’ compensation needs.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts

New York's State's Child Victims Act (CVA)
New York’s State’s Child Victims Act (CVA) and Its Impact on Insurance Claims

New York State’s Child Victims Act (CVA) was signed into law on February 14, 2019. The change in this law will have a wide-ranging impact on organizations who interact with children.

Read More

rk blog - Labor Law 240(1)
Labor Law 240(1) in New York State: Scope Narrowed by Recent Ruling

A recent ruling has narrowed the scope of Labor Law 240(1) in New York state. It is welcomed by owners and general contractors who have seen courts continuously liberally interpret the statute.

Read More

New York State CVA lookback window extended
New York State’s New SHIELD Act: What Businesses Need to Know

In July 2019, Governor Andrew Cuomo signed the law, known as the Stop Hacks and Improve Electronic Data Security, or SHIELD, Act.

Read More